For All the Heros and Sheroes

Standard

RemembranceDayCanada1-5

Today is Remembrance Day here in Canada, “the true North strong and free.” A day when we pause to remember all of the people who have given so much for the freedom that we enjoy and often take for granted. I would like to dedicate this blog entry to all of the heroes and sheroes who have sacrificed so much for this great country and to their families who support them through it all.

Motherhood

When he was just a baby,

first learning how to walk,

she held his tiny hand tightly,

not wanting him to fall.

He gently pushed her hand away,

“Let me go Mama, I’ll be okay.”

She did… and he was.

When he was a young boy,

excited for the first day of school,

she held his little hand tightly,

not wanting him to go.

He gently pushed her hand away,

“Let me go Mommy, I’ll be okay.”

She did…and he was.

When he was a teenager,

eagerly going off to college,

She held his hand tightly,

Wishing he didn’t have to go.

He gently pushed her hand away.

“Let me go Mom, I’ll be okay.”

She did… and he was.

When he was a young man,,

proudly going off to war,

she held his hand tightly,

afraid to let him go.

He gently pushed her hand away.

“Let me go Mother, I’ll be okay.”

She did…

Geraldine Lawlor

Leave a Reply

