Acronym Affliction

Standard

acronyms

It all began when I moved to British Columbia (BC). I moved here from Newfoundland and Labrador, the province with the longest name, never abbreviated  (though oftentimes shortened by those of us from the island, to “Newfoundland”, sorry Labradorians). I began my teaching career as a member of the KDTA (Kitimat District Teachers Association), which also belonged to the much larger BCTF (British Columbia Teachers Federation). As an administrator I have become a member of the bcpvpa and am affiliated with the BCPSEA ( which gets pronounced, BCPC where the C further abbreviates the “SEA” portion of the acronym.)

When speaking with teachers and administrators in the education system, many more acronyms are used.

We write:

  • IEP’s (Individual Education Program)
  • SLP’s (Student Learning Plans)
  • SIP’s (Student Intervention Plans)

We attend workshops on NID’s (Non Instructional Days) about many topics, some include:

  • NVCRI (Non Violent Crisis Response Intervention)
  • POPFASD (Provincial Outreach Program for Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder)
  • RTI (Response to Intervention)
  • POPARD (Provincial Outreach Program for Autism and Related Disorders)
  • ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder)
  • ADHD (Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder)
  • FNESC (First Nations Education Steering Committee)
We belong to PSA’s which are specific to our areas of interest and expertise, such as
  • AEA (Aboriginal Education Association)
  • BCAEA (BC Alternate Education Association)
  • BCScTA (BC Science Teachers’ Association)
  • PITA (Provincial Intermediate Teachers’ Association)
  • BCTELA (BC Teachers of English Language Arts)
  • ABCDE (Association of BC Drama Educators, the most clever acronym of all!)

We partner with many groups such as:

  • PAC (Parents’ Advisory Council)
  • RCMP (Royal Canadian Mounted Police)
  • MCFD (Ministry of Children and Family Development)
  • CDC (Child Development Centre)

Our students have the opportunity to take part in programs such as:

  • WEX (Work experience)
  • SSA (Secondary School Apprenticeship)
  • ACE IT (Accelerated Credit Enrolment in Industry Training)
  • RYLA (Rotary Youth Leadership Awards)

When parents visit the school for interviews with the teachers we call those PTI’s (Parent Teacher Interviews).

To give you an idea of how often I use these acronyms, I will give you an example of a week in the life:

As a member of the bcpvpa, I attended a workshop with my staff who are members of CUPE and the KDTA. The workshop was about NVCRI (great workshop!). I was contacted by the RCMP, an employee of MCFD and an employee of the CDC regarding the services they provide. My staff and I were busy all week writing IEP’s and SLP’s. I received an email about an upcoming workshop involving POPFASD.I had a teacher express interest attending the FNESC conference. I was contacted by a principal who had questions about ACE IT. I enrolled a new student who is in the SSA and my daughter is busy working on her presentation for RYLA. Whew! That is one week.

Sometimes a new acronym comes across my desk and I have to stop and try to decipher what it stands for. Thank goodness for the internet. And when that is down… I contact the IT department!

Leave a Reply

